1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Don't have enough monsters? Or just want to show off your painting skills. Why not try entering the Monster Mash! - Click here for more info.
    Dismiss Notice

AoS Skink Wary Fighter?

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by TLRonin, Feb 9, 2018.

Tags:
  1. TLRonin
    Jungle Swarm

    TLRonin New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    3
    So, total noob question probably. But is the ability of Wary Fighter on a Skink the same as retreating? Which means you can't shoot or charge? Or can you get out of combat and shoot in your turn?
     
    Crowsfoot likes this.
  2. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning

    Messages:
    6,343
    Likes Received:
    9,125
    Trophy Points:
    113
    It doesn't prevent shooting. Because shooting already happened at that point. :)
     
    Crowsfoot likes this.
  3. m0gstar
    Temple Guard

    m0gstar Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    402
    Trophy Points:
    63
    You can wary fighter out of a combat and do everything as normal in your next turn. It's a very strong ability
     
    Crowsfoot likes this.
  4. TLRonin
    Jungle Swarm

    TLRonin New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ah ok. Then I understand the use of this ability. Strong indeed! Thanks guys.
     
    Crowsfoot likes this.
  5. John1974
    Skink

    John1974 Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ok. Still a little confused using this ability in a few scenarios.. because it says when its your turn to pile in and attack.

    1..I shoot.. charge and wary fight..no attack.. what's the benifit of this move.

    2.. enemy charges attacks. Then instead of retaliating you wary fight again foregoing your atyack.. again whats the advantage.

    3 i shoot .. charge attack. Wait on retaliating then they have thier shoot melee then i wary fight out.. shrug...
    Am i missing something. Whats so good about this ability. I get the fact you can pull out of combat and finish your turn on an objective to get that turns point. But most likely your dead next charge..
    I've read many different interpretations of this ability . Some say it wastes an enemy's charge but i cant see how as the ability activates on your pile in and attack not the enemy's.
    Any clarification would be fantastic.
    Sry for what seems to be a dumb questiin
     
  6. Koriialstraz
    Cold One

    Koriialstraz Active Member

    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    161
    Trophy Points:
    43
    It's depend how you play it.
    If you enemy charge at your skinks, that don't mean that they attack your skinks first. So, you have the opportunity to wary fight before they attack, and so waste their charge and don't receive any attack this turn.

    It all depends which units will attack first.
     
    Crowsfoot likes this.
  7. Crowsfoot
    Slann

    Crowsfoot Guardian of Paints Staff Member

    Messages:
    6,716
    Likes Received:
    10,900
    Trophy Points:
    113
    ^This, it is situational but this is how I use it.
     
    Koriialstraz likes this.
  8. Koriialstraz
    Cold One

    Koriialstraz Active Member

    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    161
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Yes, of course. After, it really depend of what you want to do, how do you want to play, the scenario, how your opponent play, and everything. :D
     
    Crowsfoot likes this.
  9. John1974
    Skink

    John1974 Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I thought the rule is when its your turn to pile in.. So if an enemy charges he piles in before you do or am i reading this wrong.

    Also if you charge do you get to melee then wary out before enemy gets attack. Or you have to wait until next turn
     
    Crowsfoot likes this.
  10. Crowsfoot
    Slann

    Crowsfoot Guardian of Paints Staff Member

    Messages:
    6,716
    Likes Received:
    10,900
    Trophy Points:
    113
    When you charge and it's successful you then pile in, so say your enemy charges with 2 units and they are both successful, eg,

    Unit1 charges Warriors

    Unit2 charges Skinks

    he chooses to attack with unit1 he piles in and attacks your warriors, it is then your turn to attack so you don't pile in and attack with the warriors as Unit1 has attacked and can't hurt warriors anymore so then you use wary fighter instead of pile in and move out of pile in range on Unit2

    Does that make sense? ;)
     
    Koriialstraz likes this.
  11. John1974
    Skink

    John1974 Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hmmm i must be understanding the rules wrong then.. i thought each combat is resolved individually unless it is a multiple attack on 1 unit.
     
    Crowsfoot likes this.
  12. John1974
    Skink

    John1974 Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I'm feeling rightfully stupid atm
     
    Crowsfoot likes this.
  13. Crowsfoot
    Slann

    Crowsfoot Guardian of Paints Staff Member

    Messages:
    6,716
    Likes Received:
    10,900
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Don't feel stupid, each combat is resolved individually but you can choose which unit to resolve, because your opponents attacks say your warriors does not mean you have to resolve that combat first, you can resolve any unit that has not been resloved so it is allways beneficial to resolve a combat against an opponents Unit that has not attacked giving you the first attack on said unit.
     
    Koriialstraz likes this.
  14. Koriialstraz
    Cold One

    Koriialstraz Active Member

    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    161
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Like @Crowsfoot said.

    Everyone have doubt when playing. And the wording for the rules, warscroll and other aren't always clear.
    That why there are so much FAQ, discussions, question, etc. about.
     
    Crowsfoot likes this.
  15. John1974
    Skink

    John1974 Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    18
    So if there's 2 different combats going on at different locations you can choose who retaliates 1st? Our only if its multi combat 2v1 etc.

    So if i have 2 unit's of 10 skinks each in different locations. Your saying 1 gets attacked and the other can wary out but the other is stuck in combat
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 1, 2018
  16. Crowsfoot
    Slann

    Crowsfoot Guardian of Paints Staff Member

    Messages:
    6,716
    Likes Received:
    10,900
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Correct ;)

    But your never stuck in combat with Skinks you can all ways wary fighter out if you have space
     
  17. John1974
    Skink

    John1974 Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    18
    That makes it more clearer ty crow . I think i got confused because i thought that all combat its resolved individually as it happened. I didn't realise that you could choose who retaliate on the entire game board. I thought choosing who retaliated was only in reference to 2v1 situations
     
    Crowsfoot likes this.
  18. Crowsfoot
    Slann

    Crowsfoot Guardian of Paints Staff Member

    Messages:
    6,716
    Likes Received:
    10,900
    Trophy Points:
    113
    That's what we are here for, so in summary Wary fighter is awesome ;)
     
    Koriialstraz and John1974 like this.
  19. Killer Angel
    Skink Priest

    Killer Angel Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,225
    Likes Received:
    4,937
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Pretty much.
    the only way you gain nothing from wary fighter, is if the enemy makes just a single charge with one unit, and charges a unit of skinks, wiping them out.
     
    Crowsfoot likes this.
  20. Crowsfoot
    Slann

    Crowsfoot Guardian of Paints Staff Member

    Messages:
    6,716
    Likes Received:
    10,900
    Trophy Points:
    113

Share This Page