1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS Should I start AoS? Plus Qs

Discussion in 'Seraphon Discussion' started by Eyeless1, Mar 20, 2018.

1. Eyeless1
    Saurus

Eyeless1 Member

I have a warhammer itch and Total War: Warhammer is only doing so much. Its been years since I played 40k (though I have been oogling over the Thousand Sons, my favorite warband...). I started playing fantasy during End Times (so sad that they killed it right when I started) and now I've entertained the thought of playing Aos. SO, should I start playing AoS? My flgs doesnt play Fantasy or 9th age, just AoS.

What rules books do I need?
    And are there any point values for units? I looked through the Seraphon book at my flgs and could see any point values. How does army composition work? Is it really "take whatever you want?" How is that balanced?

Captaniser likes this.
  2. Mark Sinosich
    Cold One

Mark Sinosich Active Member

Captaniser likes this.
  3. Aginor
    Slann

Aginor Fifth Spawning Staff Member

I think the game is pretty reasonably balanced by now. Of course there are still a few things that suck but every game of that size has that and GW is working on it, streamlining and balancing gameplay for more and more armies.

Seraphon are in a relatively good shape (There are Seraphon lists that have a realistic chance to beat any army), and AoS is a game that - IMO - flows well, with a little bit of practice you can play it rather quickly and have fun with it.
    So yeah I think you should try it. Most people (even the not very competitive ones) tend to play with points just because of balance reasons, so the GHB2017 is heavily recommended.
    You can get along without the Battletome but it is still a great book so if you like Lizards and have the money I would recommend getting that as well.

Captaniser likes this.
  4. Killer Angel
    Slann

Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member