1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Don't have enough monsters? Or just want to show off your painting skills. Why not try entering the Monster Mash! - Click here for more info.
    Dismiss Notice

AoS Ob carno command ability

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by Tizianolol, Apr 17, 2018.

  1. Tizianolol
    Temple Guard

    Tizianolol Active Member

    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    28
    guys with this guy can I chose my jaws as melee weapon and buff myself? Or I have to chose only oldblood melee weapon and not mount?:)
     
  2. Christopher
    Razordon

    Christopher Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    573
    Trophy Points:
    93
    I'm hardly an expert, but I think you can use Ancient Warlord any of the Melee Weapons listed on the model's own Warscroll. The reasons I say this are, first, a "Saurus Oldblood on Carnosaur is a single model" and, second, the keywords on the scroll include "Saurus" and "Hero," satisfying the conditions of the Command Ability as I read it.
     
  3. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning

    Messages:
    6,340
    Likes Received:
    9,124
    Trophy Points:
    113
    You can choose to self-buff the Oldblood, including its mount, with that ability.
     
    Tizianolol likes this.
  4. Christopher
    Razordon

    Christopher Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    573
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Digging a little deeper, it seems to me that any and all units with the "Saurus" and "Hero" keywords on their Warscrolls that are within 20" of the Saurus Oldblood on Carnosaur when it uses this Command Ability benefit from it, is that true? The wording says "whenever a Saurus Hero from your army" satisfies that range requirement it benefits from the bonus.

    The question I have is whether the Hero (or Heroes, if I'm right) can be buffed with Ancient Warlord in the Hero Phase (that's when Command Abilities go off, right?) and then move outside the range during the Movement or Charge Phases and still enjoy the bonus, or whether, instead, the wording on the Warscroll requires them to still be in range during the Combat Phase to get the +2 to their Attacks characteristic. Does that make sense?
     
  5. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning

    Messages:
    6,340
    Likes Received:
    9,124
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yes. It affects the Oldblood as well because units are always in range of themselves (clarified by FAQ).

    I quickly glanced over the rule text and I am rather sure the distance is measured when the attacks happen. So no, they shouldn't move away.
    EDIT: 20" is plenty though.
     
  6. Killer Angel
    Skink Priest

    Killer Angel Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,225
    Likes Received:
    4,937
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yes, that's correct.
     
    Tizianolol likes this.

Share This Page