1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

8th Ed. Lets talk Ripperdactyls

Discussion in 'Lizardmen & Saurian Ancients Tactics' started by Pinktaco, Nov 24, 2013.

1. Pinktaco
    Skar-Veteran

Pinktaco Vessel of the Old Ones Staff Member

I want to use these awesome models, but how? I've only fielded them a couple of times and they usually just die. Then I took another good look at them and was sort of "WTF am I supposed to do with them?!".

Several times now I've seen people saying "just use them in a larger quantity". Fair enough, but how many and for what reason exactly? - I personally don't want to field these for warmachine hunting because in all fairness we got plenty for that already.

Is it the killing-blow? I mean, if these guys doesn't deliver they'll probably die soon after (low initiative, WS, T and AS).

So I figured I'd try to run som math on them. Now, I'm not that good at math, I never have been, so maybe my numbers are wrong, but here goes:

@4 models wide, attacking the toad target, they deliver:

2 attacks each = 8 attacks.
    D3+1 = average 1.5 + 1 (?)

So that'll be average on 18 attacks.

Half of those will be gone in the To Hit phase (against most targets), followed by a re-roll of 8, which will be cut to half.
    So an average of 12 attacks will go through the To Hit phase.
    Of those 12 attack against T4 models 6 will cause wounds of which roughly 2 will be killing blows.

So out of an average 18 attacks they'll generate 2 killing blows and another 4 regular wounds (which will modify armour by -2).

Then we can add the spear wielding skinks.

Again, my math might be wrong, so do feel free to correct it.

The issue is, that I've seen people claim these can do some serious things to cavalry units, but with an average of 2 KBs I'm just not quite feeling it. Am I wrong about this?