1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can/Did we have a discussion about recasting?

Discussion in 'General Hobby/Tabletop Chat' started by Lord-Marcus, Jul 15, 2017.

1. Lord-Marcus
    Slann

Lord-Marcus Sixth Spawning

What are your thoughts on it? With 8th ed coming out, I find myself on a budget and rebuilding my 40k army from scratch.

is buying recasts viable if you have no other way to get models at reasonable prices (Ebay is seldom reasonable?)

Is buying recasts ok for OOP figures?

sorry if we already had this thread, as I cannot remember.

Ritual, Aginor and Captaniser like this.
  2. Essmir
    Chameleon Skink

Essmir Well-Known Member

Recasts for OOP do I think most people are ok whit. But we might have to hear from the admins if discussing newer recasts is allowed on the forum. I am no lawyer but it might be copyright infringement and not allowed to be discussedon the forum. And don't see this as trying to shut your voice down I just don't want anyone to be banned in this grey area. As other people have been on other sites.

3. Jorgik
    Carnasaur

Jorgik Well-Known Member

I wouldn't´t get recasts willingly unless the model is out of production. I know that even if I saved some money I wouldn't´t feel satisfied, because I´d feel that I did something illegal. If you want cheaper models go to independent retailers. They usually have some discounts.
    That´s my point of view anyways.
    Other thing is recasting pieces or models that you have converted, such as weapons, legs or heads, specially when there´s green stuff involved.

4. Crowsfoot
    Slann

Crowsfoot Guardian of Paints Staff Member

This is indeed a grey area but from my personal point of view I would never knowingly buy a recast it is infringement of copyright and increases the cost of legitimate products.

I feel the same for copied dvd, cd, etc I would never knowingly purchase such an item.