1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Blog A Hatchlings Journey

Discussion in 'Personal Paint Logs' started by Draupernaut, Nov 8, 2017.

1. Draupernaut
    Skink

Draupernaut Member

In this beginner-blog I like to report about the progress on my seraphon models.

Because I have very little experience in the field of painting minis and the last time I painted ia somewhat over ten years ago, I consider myself an absolute beginner and would gladly hear about your suggestions and tips. All those techniques and considerations seem quite daunting to me.

I bought the starter set and made some conversions, so I got an additional skink priest, a scar veteran on cold-one, an astrolith bearer and a old-one on foot. I will repost the pictures I already posted in my introduction thread:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

At this point, I only assembled and primed all my minis. Yesterday I started with making some experiments with my colours. For the skin of my lizards I aim for a little more greenish tone than the typical gw colour-scheme. You can see the result of my experiments below.

Farbpalette.jpg
    Farbpalette_2.jpg

I really like how some of the colours turned out.
    • Right now I consider taking A4 as Base for Skin, then wash with a deluted A1, and then put layer C4 on it. Maybe highlight or drybrush with a bit of more white into C4.
    • For the scales, I think about taking A2 as Base, A1 as wash, and then maybe B6 as layer?
    • The lizards should also receive a warpaint in a dark red/bordeaux.
    • Weapons with bronze and gold edge-highlight.
    • Shields and Blades of the Weapons with dark grey and then I would try something like a galaxy effect. Or I highlight with a light emerald green like E2 but with more white put into the mix.

What do you guys think about the whole colour concept?
    I am eager for your feedback and suggestions.